Below is an annotated list of children's literature for the elementary classroom. The books are organized by the Six Elements of Social Justice Curriculum Design (Picower, 2007). It is based on work by pre-service teachers at Montclair State University. They have read and reviewed these books and provided insights into how they can be used in K-5 settings.

Sunday, October 14, 2018

Separate is Never Equal

Separate is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and
Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation
By: Duncan Tonatiuh

Separate is Never Equal by Duncan Tonatiuh depicts the
Mendez v. Westminster School District case from the perspective
of  Sylvia Mendez and her family. Mendez V.  Westminster School District  
contributed to the desegregation of schools in America in 1947 (seven year
before Brown v. Board of Education). The text connects to elements 5 and
6 of the Six Elements of Social Justice developed by Dr. Bree Picower; the
Mendez family raised awareness in  response to the injustice of school
segregation and took social action to legally end these racist practices.
The harm caused by school segregation is illustrated through the eyes of
Sylvia Mendez. Sylvia Mendez’s family organized with other Mexican families
and social justice groups in Orange County California to file a lawsuit in response
to racism and school segregation. Through the efforts of the Mendez family and
the people who organized around their cause,  the court ruled that all students in
California could attend school together regardless of race, ethnicity or language.
The text also includes an author’s note with historical information,pictures
of Sylvia Mendez, a glossary and a bibliography of interviews, articles, films
and and websites related to the text.

This book can be ordered from:

Additional Resources:

No comments:

Post a Comment