Below is an annotated list of children's literature for the elementary classroom. The books are organized by the Six Elements of Social Justice Curriculum Design (Picower, 2007). It is based on work by pre-service teachers at Montclair State University. They have read and reviewed these books and provided insights into how they can be used in K-5 settings.

Sunday, October 6, 2013

The Bernstein Bears Forget Their Manners

Author: Stan and Jan Berenstain
Grade Level: Preschool-2

Buy it Here!!

Short Summary:
In the Bernstein Bears book Forget Their Manners, Stan and Jan Berenstain help us explore a valuable lesson of manners and the Bears family has forgotten them. Their manners got so out of hand that Mama bear created the Bear Family Politeness Plan and for each rude thing done, there was a penalty of a household chore. Sister Bear and Brother bear create a plan to get out of the new plan and it backfires. They end up teaching Papa Bear that manners are about being fair and considerate and help us get along with one another.

Element: Element 2 Respect for Others
ForgetTheir Manners reminds us that manners are an important part of getting along with others and showing them respect. If we have manners and are polite to others then they will be polite in return. Manners are a fundamental lesson to teach children and allow us to show we respect the people around us.

I would use this book in one of the first days of the new school year to remind students that manners should always be used including in the classroom. I would read it aloud to the class while they are gathered seated in front of me so it is a comfortable and casual setting. While reading I would comment on some of the things that Sister and Brother Bear did and afterwards open the discussion to the class. By doing this I would be letting them know that we use manners to show respect for each other and that is what  we need to do in my classroom.Buy it Here!!

No comments:

Post a Comment